Day 30 (FINALLY) : My Reflection in the Mirror

Sorry for the uber super late post. I procrastinated really hard. I actually liked this blog challenge, despite some shortcomings in a few of the prompts. It was a new way to stretch me out as a writer. I also like the idea of me ending this challenge on a Sunday.

A reflection in the mirror. In a literal sense I’m just a slightly sunburned white teen with a slim and fit appearance. Clothes are usually just T-shirt and jeans, no need for me to go more. Beyond physical appearance, I can see myself as a person with a good life. Nothing too extraordinary in terms of hardships or accomplishments, but I have my reasons to be glad and not sad about what I have.

Introspection is harder than seeing from the outside. I know myself and I don’t. Others will notice things about me that I don’t. An outside perspective can reveal a lot of things, but it will never reveal what’s inside another person’s heart. Only I will know what’s really inside my heart, even if I tell another person about how I feel.

A mirror is the main place for introspection. You can look yourself in the eyes and know who you are. You get to have that outside perspective for yourself. I often look at myself and know how far I’ve came. Sometimes I still think about the seventh grader that couldn’t do a pull up. Now I can row 210 pounds on the machine five times in a set.

What do you see in the mirror?

Leave a Reply

