Day 6: A Stranger

Mitchy, Karla and I were taking the bus up to Berkeley in order to get some food. Karla and I were sitting down in the curved plastic chairs while Mitchy, in her usual fashionable attire, was standing up. We were minding our own business, talking about teen stuff. Eventually Mitchy sat next to Karla after a seat opened up. There was a seat that was empty beside me. The bus stopped, and a stranger stepped on with a box of some junk.

His eyes were wide open and he was white enough that you could tell he spent his time indoors tinkering around with which-its and whats-its. He sat down next to me and simply said, “I’m going to make a generator out of this.”

“Oh yeah, and how are you gonna do that?” I replied, genuinely curious. From then onwards, I somehow kept up a conversation with a stranger about DIY construction. After some time, I decided that he was intelligent, but with some screws loose. He had all of these crazy ideas: he apparently wrote a paper once on replacing the polar ice caps with holograms. Say whaaattt? It was intriguing, to say the least, even if it was probably scientifically questionable. As I talked with him he gazed off in a different direction from my eyes, obviously weighing my words and forming his responses somewhere else. He was still engaging to talk to, though.

After the talk of replacing the polar ice caps, his stop came up and he left. The bus continued on. Mitchy then looked over at me. She and Karla were talking with each other the whole time I was talking with the stranger. “Did you know that guy?” she asked me.

“No, not at all,” I said, laughing.

“Why would you talk with a stranger?”

“Well, he just came up to me and told me that he was going to make a generator.” I shrug.

Today, I still wonder if that stranger ever worked on those holograms that are supposed to replace the polar ice caps.

 

Leave a Reply

