When You Are the (Romantically) Pursued

So yesterday, I was being hit on by a girl who joined my choir class during second semester. We never really talked in person, but she was quite straightforward on Facebook, saying she kinda liked me and stuff. I found her interesting to talk with, but I started dying with laughter when she said that I was “sexy as hell,” “charming,” and “cool.” I just found it quite surprising. I mean, sure I’m attractive, but I’d never imagine that I’d warrant this kind of pursuit.

In fact, chicks are interesting creatures. Hardly ever do they pursue a guy, no matter how much they happen to like them. Usually they sit there, pining to be chased, in a hilariously romantic fashion. Now trust me, I have a lot of ladies for friends, and I know this because a lot of them tell me their romantic fancies. It’s somewhat disappointing to see people not chasing after what they want, but chasing after other people is different business. People are dynamic creatures, and change fairly readily, especially in the emotional department. Each individual also has their own interests, which they may or may not adapt based on other people’s perceptions of them.

Which brings me to how I personally feel about this. I’m flattered that a chick finds me attractive, of course. In fact, that’s usually my reaction for anybody who finds me attractive. But then of course, there are my other interests. I like another chick for one, but also, I’m currently at a crossroads where I have to decide on what I want to get out of my life in the near future right now. I’m taking another week off from wrestling just to actually figure this out. In other words, I’m not going to do much of anything until I finally decide on what I want out of my next year and how I’m going to get what I want.

Girls of course take time, the main resource that’s applied to achieving goals. I’m relatively open-minded and am quite honestly fascinated with the concept of a relationship, but… I have other things in mind too. I still have my youth and my future ahead of me. I’m seriously in no rush when it comes to that. For now I’ll maintain a position of neutrality towards this and will adapt as the cards fall.

I’ll have to acknowledge that this is difficult though, with pressure from the bros to take opportunities such as these (one of my best friends got pretty worked up over this, pretty much telling me to ask the girl out on the social networking spot) being almost constant. Oh well. My resolve to figure myself out for the future though is set and that shall be enough for me to withstand any peer pressure.

One things for certain: I won’t ever be able to figure out chicks within my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

