Loose and Unabridged Commentary

I never got why chicks are so into your love life/potential love life. It gets real bothersome at times. Like that one time when my friends start talking too much in front of that chick that gives me those feels. Geez, like the fact that I get those feels already wasn’t enough. Thanks guys, way to help a bro out.

A manual to help a bro out: give a pat on the back when things are awesome, give a pat on the back when things suck, know your place as a wingman, not being high during hang outs, keeping your house open to others, knowing when to speak and when to listen.

Just found a band called Therion today. It’s pretty sweet. It’s got all this opera and symphonic stuff going on with the rock. I really like symphonic metal. I first heard symphonic metal while listening to Dimmu Borgir. I really like the symphonic metal that Dimmu Borgir creates, but I’d prefer it if most of their songs were made as instrumentals. It’s not that they can’t sing, they actually have great voices, but instead of singing, they prefer throaty roaring.

That sensation of your limb falling completely asleep. The way that you can’t feel anything and can only move around like three muscle fibers at a time. The way that the blood flows back after getting that limb moving and grooving again. I particularly like the experience of the blood flowing back into that limb. Too bad that numbing up the limb first isn’t worth the experience, though. I’d highly prefer it if my blood was well-circulated, thank you very much.

“Total abstinence is so excellent a thing that it cannot be carried to too great an extent. In my passion for it I even carry it so far as to totally abstain from total abstinence itself.”-Mark Twain

Darkness in a song gives me the shivers. It’s pretty awesome, actually. “Apocalypse,” a song by Jesper Kyd, is pure darkness in terms of music. The voice of the choir, the strings, the drums, all of it is dark. I’ve listened to the song nearly 200 times. And that’s just on my computer. There’s something about the macabre and malevolent chant that gets me going. In fact, my tendency towards darker music makes me shy away from most of the songs that my peers listen to nowadays.

Sometimes my friends might bring up a song and they’d be like, “This song makes me real happy.” I usually end up listening to the song and then sadquitting because the song really was sad. I never got why people get happy from such sentimentality. Perhaps it just makes them happy to know that they’re not alone in terms of what they feel. It makes me happy when I get to be able to empathize with my friends, but for some reason, I just can’t do it with music. I’d prefer listening to a song that directly makes me happy by being, you know, happy.

I remember one time in advisory when Mr. Ross started blasting music and those girls were telling him to turn it down and I was sitting there somewhat amused while I was doing my work. I’m so used to having noises around me while I’m doing my work that I can easily tune out any outside noise. In fact, I often seek noise out to maintain my focus. I spend a lot of my time doing homework to music. I admit that there are some nuisances about this practice, such as having to bring up the iTunes browser in order to change the song and such, but overall I think it helps me out.

When you do blog writing, I’m surprised as to how easy it is to just keep writing. My bro Jamie started up a blog separate from his LiveJournal in order to do some pleasure writing, but sometimes he has a hard time actually getting started and keeping the momentum alive. I know the feel. It’s too easy to take a hiatus after having only done a week’s work of something new. But once you just commit to the momentum, it flows out, and it feels rather nice. This flow is what I call the “writer’s urge.” The urge is the antithesis to the block and it’s a much more pleasant and efficient zone to be in. It’s excellent, really.

Sometimes I wonder what it is that makes people love each other. Like, are people falling more in love with another person, or are they falling in love with the perception that they have of that person?If there is a true distinguishment to make between these two things, I believe that it’s important to make such a difference clear to oneself. It would definitely be interesting to know how people draw the conclusion as to how awesome of a potential mate another individual is.

I never understood why people post up pictures of them smoking hookahs or blunts or drinking with their friends. What exactly am I supposed to get from those pictures? I guess those people are having fun, but I’m not particularly moved by their pics of blowing thick clouds out of their mouths as their eyes are turning bloodshot. I suppose that it’s entertaining to think that they’re trying to come off as hard gangstas that couldn’t care less (winky wink, Mr. Ross). I’ll give them stupidity points for not believing that their pics of their partying won’t drag them down in some way. I for one, won’t be giving my respect points out to those people.

One thing that I think that’s really cool about this year is that I learned more about what goes into making a good writer good. Writing well isn’t necessarily all about grammar and advanced vocabulary, it’s also about the ideas you present and the charisma that you radiate from your words. Just recently I’ve been looking at some people’s writing and will readily give them kudos for good writing, even if it may or may not be tip-top in the grammar department. I honestly enjoy English a lot more as a result of taking on this perspective.

“‘There are only the pursued, the pursuing, the busy, and the tired'” (The Great Gatsby, 79).

“…[L]ife is much more successfully looked at from a single window…” (Gatsby, 4).

“Dishonesty in a woman is a thing you never blame deeply…” (Gatsby, 58).

“No amount of fire or freshness can challenge what a man will store up in his ghostly heart” (Gatsby, 96).

“It is invariably saddening to look through new eyes at things upon which you have expended your own powers of adjustment” (Gatsby, 104).
I’ve rethought the validity of one of my friend’s statements: “choir is a cult.” Indeed, it seems that way sometimes, because most of the choir nerds can make a ton of references to obscure subject matter almost constantly throughout daily life, but they’re at least a welcoming cult. Choir kids can get crazy sometimes though. I’ve heard stories, see…

I’ve totally been loving my relationship with my mama recently. We’ve definitely gotten closer over all of these years. We can make sarcastic and politically incorrect jokes with each other and still be able to talk seriously about life. I also wanna be like her when it comes to her writing. It’s awesome when she writes angrily and starts ranting about stuff. She’s one of those women who have a sharp sense of humor without compromising her femininity. And for that, I admire her.

As for my dad, I admire what he’s been doing with his music lately. I can tell that he’s using all of his emotional energy from his second divorce to good effect. It’s been hard on both of us. I feel like the Myers family is full of late bloomers in their own way. My dad just now seems to be figuring himself out. As for me, I think that now would be a great time to start.

Leave a Reply

