Rape Culture Commentary

Today is unprecedented in that I was exposed to a lot of how our media may approach sexual abuse. Earlier today, I watched Trust, a film about a girl who becomes a victim of rape via Internet predation. The film in itself was excellent and all acting performances were convincing. I was also able to appreciate the film for being able to take on a provocative subject. The consequences of being raped were explored in-depth: the victim attempts to convince herself that the relationship was real, that she had a choice of having sex, that the blame lies on everyone else who sees it as a problem. The victim also becomes ostracized for being raped, being called a “whore” or a “slut.” Though it happened in a movie, I believed that it was realistic enough for it to happen in real life.

I found out that it was entirely realistic. On the Freshly Pressed today, I read a highly relevant post discussing “rape culture.” I’m sure that most of you have read it. You know, the one by Rants Against the Random:

http://rantagainsttherandom.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/so-youre-tired-of-hearing-about-rape-culture/

The fact that we section off people as “sluts” when they’re rape victims is disturbing. Truthfully, whenever there’s a rape case, we were never really there. There’s just no real way of knowing that it was non-consensual, unless there is damning evidence that it was rape, such as 1) physical evidence or 2) an actual confession from the alleged rapist. The fact that the “alleged” explicitly show that they have no remorse and that they feel like they have no reason to bothers me to a great extent. What really irks me is that we cover things like these up and sweep it under the rug thinking that it’s no big deal.

Rape needs to be acknowledged as a serious human issue. I had no idea that Americans could think that it wouldn’t be. Why do we come to the aid of the rapist?

“She was practically begging for the D with that shirt she was wearing.”

“She was drunk, so she was asking for it.”

Comments like these are apparently fairly common, much to my great disgust. I’d honestly like to see how these people would react if they were put in a similar situation, to see if they would actually think, “Oh, because I was drunk, it was all my fault.” Really? So it’s not the rapist’s fault that they forced themselves on you. Hmm.

This reception is also fairly curious considering our obsession with keeping our children safe from sexual predation. Last time I checked, we really cared if our children got raped. I guess not.

I’m curious as to how female rapists come into play for all of this rape culture discussion. They’re of course not as common, but I’m sure it happens enough. I know a guy who got into a situation that he’d rather not have been involved in with a girl, but he was somehow lead into it as an act of predation.

The fact that humans prey on each other to such an extent… it’s simply mind-boggling. We don’t have any natural predators except for ourselves. Is that because of our supposedly “great intellect” that justifies sexual predation and other such wrongs? It quite possibly could be.

One comment on “Rape Culture Commentary

  1. And the blame always falls on the girl…

Leave a Reply

